uncleal's diary 0 comments so far

uncleal's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

So, yesterday was fun. I took the kids to the park, and we stayed there from about 11am until 3pm. Lucian had fun, running around and he made lots of new friends. It seems to me that he will always be popular, the way the kids act around him, now. He's not quite the alpha male type, so sometimes he gets pushed around, but mostly once a kid has started playing with him, they can't get enough. It's kind of funny, really. Even though he'll be 2 1/2 in February, he plays with the 4 and 5 year olds. He doesn't seem to have much use for the kids his age. He kind of big brothers them. He claps when a boy of two comes down the slide, as though encouraging him. He helps the three year old girl climb the jungle gym, in case she can't make it on her own... or just to touch her butt. (speculation)

But the kids who tower over him, and amaze him with their vast vocabulary are the ones he chases after, and gets into games with. Which is good, because he learns stuff from them. And just when I think he may be annoying said older kid, he wanders away to do something he wants to do, and the older kid follows him. Asking him to play with him some more, and when Lucian just replys, "I want to play on the swings," they run to their dad to ask for help getting into the swing. When Lucian decides to play on the ring, the get out of the swing and follow him.

It cracked me up, too. Here he is playing with a 5 year old boy, who is carrying around a sword and telling people they will be thrown into a fiery furnace if they don't do as they say, and Lucian is outclassing him in everything they do. On the swings, Lucian wants to be pushed higher and faster. Sword Boy wants his dad to "Slow it down!" On the giant tilted ring, Lucian keeps asking me to "Push it faster, Mommy!" and Sword Boy threatens me with the furnace if I don't slow it down. Of course I replied, "If you don't want to go as fast as Lucian, you'll have to get off. I'll risk the fiery furnace for my son's pleasure." And Sword Boy asks me to stop the ring so I can let him off. The slide was the same way. Lucian went down the slide head first, and Sword Boy actually yelled at him that he had to go feet first. I had to intervene again, and tell him that just because he was too scared to have fun didn't mean that MY child was going to wimp out.

I have no patience for other people's children.

Val made a friend too. There was a 2 year old boy who had a 7 month old little brother, whom he apparently adored, because he couldn't stop coming over and making faces at Val. Val was loving it. He would laugh and scream every time the boy came near. And eventually, Val even got into the swings, and let me push him a bit. He seemed pretty excited about that, too.

I think Val is going to be one of those kids who will always want to be "older" so he can "do stuff." He's already starting to try crawling even though his poor littlebody isn't really up to the challenge. It's funny to watch though.

And, when we came home our cleaning lady was still hard at work on her hands and knees scrubbing the floor. I tried to get Lucian to leave her alone, but he wound up "helping" her anyway.

Did I mention that our cleaning lady is BF's mom? And therefore, Mom-mom? She liked having Lucian "help" her, but he definately slowed her down. And she wasn't able to finish. But the house looks WAAAAY better now, anyway.

Well, BF's cousin is coming for a visit later today, and I have to shower before he gets here. I hope you all have a fun weekend.

1:59 P.M. - Saturday, Jan. 26, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

I am worth $1,978,162 on HumanForSale.com
How much are you worth?

other diaries:

heydomsar
kungfukitten
weetabix
haloaskew
poolagirl
bluemeany
cosmicrayola
awittykitty
myownjourney
ltrs2lucian
sketty
liquid-mojo
unclebob
stepfordtart