uncleal's diary 4 comments so far

uncleal's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Faster, faster

So, I am on the third day of a fast. You may be thinking to yourself, "Isn't that a bit drastic? You're only 15 lbs overweight, fer chrissakes!" And if you are I would have to say to you, "Yes, but you've noticed all 15 of those pounds, haven't you... it's time to do something about it."

And well, it may be draastic, but since I've never dieted before, I don't think I could do it any other way. I mean let's think about it. For two weeks I eat nothing. I drink a shake packed with mostly everything I need, drink vegetable broth (homemade) which has everything else I need, and I drink as much water as I can. I'm unbearable hungry, moody, and tired (although the people who wrote the book claim I'm supposed to be full of energy), but all this only has to last two weeks. Afterwards, I can eat normally. Not big portions, but then, my stomach will have shrunk, and big portions won't actually fit in there after this.

I don't have to keep on the diet forever. I don't have to count calories, or points, or carbs or anything. And if you knew how lazy and, well, bad at math I am... you would know that I wouldn't be able to do any of that. AND if all that wasn't enough for you - at the end of the two weeks, I will not be overweight. At. All. That's right on this fast you can lose between 15-18 pounds... and you really do keep it off.

I did this fast just before Christmas. I weighed 145. I didn't make it the full two weeks, because I wanted to be sure that I wouldn't have the runs when I went to the Christmas Eve Feast of the Seven Fishes. So ten days was all I did. I lost 12 pounds. I gained back 3 (which is normal, because your body needs water to digest solid foods, so you gain 2-3 pounds back in water weight. So by the Feast I weighed 136. I ate all 7 fishes, I ate a big turkey dinner the next day. I celebrated birthdays, New Years, and the Superbowl and I weighed 136 when I started the fast again this Monday. I also went out drinking, and ate lots of chips and dip during the playoffs. None of this affected my weight.

The glory of this whole thing is that it kind of restarts your matabolism so that when you're done, you once again have the metabolism of your teenaged self.

BF is doing the fast with me (or rather I am doing it with him, since it was his idea). BF is a Big Guy. He weighed 350 pounds at the start of September. He realized that it's real hard to play catch from a Rascal Scooter, and that with two little boys in the house, playing catch was going to be the highlight of his life. So he started to diet. He decided that chicken salad with oil and vinegar dressing would be his path to success. So for breakfast he would eat a grapefruit. Midmorning snack was a small (read: suggested serving size) bowl of cereal with skim milk. Lunch began the chicken salad. His salad consisted of boneless chicken breast bought at Sam's Club, and grilled on the Foreman Grill, seasoned with steak rub, romaine lettuce, a plum tomato cut up, onion, and sometimes some carrot shreds. Dinner was more chicken salad.

He did this faithfully every day with the exception of every two weeks he would allow himself to cheat. Sometimes his cheat was barely that - a chicken ceasar wrap from Chick-Fil-A. Other times it was a full on cheat - 12 beers followed by a Philly Cheese Steak.

With this diet, he lost 60 lbs from September to early December. Then we did the fast, and he lost another 15 lbs. He went through all of the same parties and munching and just basic gluttony that I did, and he started this month's fast at the same weight he was at the end of the last fast.

This shit is the fucking greatest thing ever, and almost no one has heard of it. BF always says it's not for the faint of heart. And I guess that's true, but really, if you want to lose those 15ish pounds, and you've ever suffered through two weeks of depression for less or no reason, then I think you can do it. And who knows? Maybe you'll be one of those people who really do get a perk of energy and happiness.

Anyway. I just wanted to share. Because really, I seriously stand behind this fast/diet. Oh, and it's perfectly safe to repeat it after 3-4 weeks of eating normal food. BF is using this time around to get him back in the mind set for his chicken salad diet, because he still has 100 more lbs to go before he's reached the weight he wants to be at. I just want to do this two weeks and be done. I want to go shopping for skirts, and halter tops, and sandals. I want to own shorts and belly tee's and body glitter.

If you want information on this stuff let me know. I'll be happy to send you a link.

11:56 A.M. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

I am worth $1,978,162 on HumanForSale.com
How much are you worth?

other diaries:

heydomsar
kungfukitten
weetabix
haloaskew
poolagirl
bluemeany
cosmicrayola
awittykitty
myownjourney
ltrs2lucian
sketty
liquid-mojo
unclebob
stepfordtart