uncleal's diary 0 comments so far

uncleal's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Free Advice

OK, so I know I've had a lot fewer readers since the comments flame wars died, but seriously - I need your help.

I have realized that one thing I am fantastic at, is handing out free advice. OK, I know that sounds both conceited and dumb, but hear me out.

My own love life not-withstanding, I am excellent at being able to see all sides of a situation, even if I'm only getting one skewed point of view. I'm an excellent judge of character (unless my heart or loins are involved), and I've spent my life watching people learning what makes them tick.

I sit and read these journals day in and day out. I know, but I have an easy job with very little to keep me busy, and only a computer to occupy me. Mostly I read about people who are unhappy. I find it interesting that very few happy people journal. I wonder why that is. I mean I know why the unhappy people do, I just wonder why so few genuinely happy people sit and record the goings on in their lives. You know what - I take that back. It's me. I read happy people's journals, and I think "Wow, I can't wait until my life gets there," and then I get bored and stop reading. So I'm sure they are out there, I'm just not interested.

So anyway, I think I should probably go back to school for psych, or soc, or something. Especially since I've enjoyed dispensing advice since I was a young teenager. And it's generally correct advice. But people pay more attention to you if you have a degree.

But, in the meantime, I want to see if I can start a website where people write in to me with their issues, and I write back some sort of reply. Of course I'd have to tell them up front that I'm not trained, just good. And I'd have to learn how to advertise. But I'm about to be a stay at home mom, and while I don't expect to have oodles of time on my hands, I suspect, I would be able to keep up a few emails. I don't think that my site would take off right away, so while I'm building a reputation, I'm sure it wouldn't take up much of my day. And while I'm doing all of this, I could go to school at night, or on-line, and then I could get my degree, and change my site a bit.

I want it to be free. Especially before I get my degree, because really, who would pay for advice from a woman who's just talking out her ass? And besides, I'm doing this as a hobby. Even if I get my degree, it's not a career, it's a hobby. You know like those people who build model planes, it takes a lot of money, and time, and dedication, sometimes more than their jobs. But it makes them happy. That how I want this to be.

So I need help from all 4-6 people that read my journal still. Here's a list of problems with my idea that I'll need your help with.

1.) I don't know how to make a website, so I'll need to hire someone to do that. Dom, if you're reading I know you do excellent work, but I don't know how much you charge. Dana, if you read, I know you do acceptable work, but I don't know if you'd do anything for me, even for money.

2.) the only domain name I thought of was freeadvice dot com, and that's taken. It seems that free_advice dot com was not taken, but I can't be sure, cause I'm an internet dummy. SO I would need help finding a place where I could buy a domain name for cheap, to start since I don't have a lot of money, and such.

3.) Aside from advertising my skills in the comments section, I don't know how to get the word out.

And now I need to go to breakfast before my poor baby starves in there.

Thank you all in advance for your help, I hope there will be a flood of comments and/or notes.

8:38 A.M. - Friday, Feb. 09, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

I am worth $1,978,162 on HumanForSale.com
How much are you worth?

other diaries:

heydomsar
kungfukitten
weetabix
haloaskew
poolagirl
bluemeany
cosmicrayola
awittykitty
myownjourney
ltrs2lucian
sketty
liquid-mojo
unclebob
stepfordtart